top of page


Northwest Territories is the region of northern and northwestern Canada that encompasses a vast area of forests and tundra. Its name is descriptive, adopted by the British government during the colonial era to indicate where it lays in relation to the rest of Rupert's Land. It is shortened from North-Western Territory, which became the term North-West Territories.


The NWT is one of two jurisdictions in Canada – Nunavut being the other – where Aboriginal peoples are in the majority, constituting 50.4% of the population

  • Population (Approx.): 45,000

  • Major cities: Yellowknife & Hay River

  • Key Sectors: Mining & Tourism

To immigrate through the Northwest Territories Nominee Program, you need to either apply under the

Employer-Driven Scheme or the Business Stream.

bottom of page